top of page

Compassion and My Mother

Kuan Yin - the bodhisattva of compassion 🌸


In my morning meditation, I received the message to soften more, to love more, to be more compassionate. Towards myself, mostly, and towards others. I feel I have been doing that, increasing those feelings more and more lately. But I may continue to do that even more, and perhaps so do you.


Kuan Yin is dedicated to compassion, to be compassion itself. So I called upon her to help me be more compassionate. She was close by, always is, as this is a photo of a drawing that hangs on the wall above my bed. My mom made this drawing for me.



I actually wanted to share something about “mothering” today, as this has been a theme coming up a lot lately. Instead, Kuan Yin came through, but that ends up being the bridge to the topic of “mothering” and my mother in particular. Funny how these things go.


With the moon in Cancer, the mother in me has become more present, as has my relationship with my mother. During yesterday’s Full Moon ceremony I was remembered that “I have to mother myself first”, before being that for someone else. “I may also let myself be mothered”, meaning that I may also need someone else sometimes, ask for help, let myself be taken care of, be nurtured. Though these things are not easy for me, as I carry the belief that “I need to be independent, strong, not need anybody, not be vulnerable and show weakness”. I am working hard to shed that belief. In fact, I am releasing that belief right now, with the full moon. Because the truth is that I don’t have to do everything on my own. And the same goes for you. It’s actually really beautiful and healing to receive the care and help from someone else. Especially when they are your mom, or a mother figure to you.


So let yourself be mothered, so as you learn to mother yourself and thén can also mother someone else.


My mom gave me this drawing of Kuan Yin; she gave me compassion. And she really did, because when I see this drawing, I see my mother, who - to me - represents compassion itself. And I believe that’s a key point of what “mothering” means: it’s to be compassionate.


So thank you, mem, for showing me what it means to be compassionate 💕

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page